Where the Dining and Drinking Is

You know that I would have wanted a beach wedding which means beach party which means free-spirited party-ing! I knew all this time that I would never hold the reception at a hotel function room and, I guess, any closed space. I once attended a wedding in a hotel and I really felt claustrophobic and the party stiff. It felt like any small wrong move and I’ll be reprimanded, worse, be accused of having no manners. From then on, if ain’t the beach it will be just a garden reception.

When we visited the Guadalupe church, we also checked out its courtyard. It was small, a little dark, perhaps, for my taste. It can hold ideally 150-200 guests (athough we knew one event that it accommodated 250 or a little more BUT it already looked and felt cramped). The rent at PhP10k is beyond reasonable compared with those venues that charged for more that that. However, I did not fall for it at the first sight.

I tried to check other venues within Makati and here were what I considered:

Filipinas Heritage Library

Filipinas Heritage Library

The Filipinas Heritage Library Garden is available venue for events including weddings. Since I love books, might as well hold it somewhere that represents my love for reading. It good for intimate weddings since it can hold a small party, it IS at the heart of Makati and the lights from Ayala and nearby buildings can add to its charm especially for reception. More preferred venue when wedding is during the Christmas season when all of the Makati Business District is well-lighted. I wasnt able to inquire about the rates, though, and I am not sure of the parking spaces.

Kasalikasan, The Fort @ BGC

Kasalikasan, The Fort @ BGC

night reception at Kasalikasan

night reception at Kasalikasan

Kasalikasan is located within The Fort and near our church. I tried to inquire thru email but they did not answer about the rates. i think they prefer a personal inquiry. I had to say, though that the people I exchanged email with were both very accommodating.

I guess the reason I did not pursue to inquire about the two venues was because I was trying to be practical.

At the end I decided on the Nuestra Señora de Gracia Parish courtyard. One, as mentioned, the rental fee was very affordable and reasonable compared with others. Second, it will save time for us couple and guests. Instead of driving from church to the venue in another location, it can be the cocktail hour so the guests can mingle and drink. It gives us ample time for the party and, of course, means an early dinner. Imagine the time for cocktails if the reception is held in another venue can be our dinner time! It also has ample parking space!

Here is the courtyard:

image

And here are our pics when we reserved for the church and the venue:

image

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cecil Ayson
    Jun 24, 2015 @ 11:33:25

    Please be advised that the Filipinas Heritage Library (www.filipinaslibrary.org.ph) is now located at the 6th floor of Ayala Museum and we no longer have venue rentals for events like weddings. Our old location, the Nielson Tower at Ayala Triangle, is now home to the Blackbird Restaurant. Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

August 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
